About the conference

The International Statistical Ecology Conference is a biennial meeting of researchers at the interface between ecology and statistics. At ISEC2022 we have planned an exciting list of keynote speakers that bridge these two disciplines, as well as training opportunities for attendees, a forum for interdisciplinary collaboration, and a healthy dose of fun.

ISEC2022 is planned as a hybrid conference. We would love to see you in Cape Town in person. However, we understand that not everyone interested in this conference can travel, whatever the reason may be. If that applies to you, this does not mean that you have to miss out. We will do our best to make it easy for our online participants to take part in the activities of this conference.

Scientific Planning Committee

  • David Warton, University of New South Wales (co-chair)
  • Res Altwegg, University of Cape Town (co-chair)
  • Phil Dixon. Iowa State University
  • Rachel Fewster, University of Auckland
  • Beth Gardner, University of Washington
  • Rachel McCrea, University of Kent
  • Juan Morales, Universidad Nacional del Comahue
  • Leslie New, Washington State University
  • Matt Schofield, University of Otago
  • Doug Yu, University of East Anglia and Kunming Institute of Zoology
  • Nokuthaba Sibanda, Victoria University Wellington
  • Colin Beale, University of York
  • Bob Scholes, University of the Witwatersrand
  • Sarah Converse, University of Washington
  • Victoria Goodall, Rhodes University

Local Organising Committee

ISEC2022 is hosted by the centre for Statistics in Ecology, Environment and Conservation (SEEC, www.seec.uct.ac.za/) at the University of Cape Town’s Department for Statistical Sciences

  • Res Altwegg, SEEC (co-chair)
  • Greg Distiller, SEEC (co-chair)
  • Allan Clark, SEEC
  • Natasha Karenyi, SEEC
  • Ian Durbach, SEEC and University of St Andrews
  • Birgit Erni, SEEC
  • David Maphisa, SEEC and South African National Biodiversity Institute
  • Mzabalazo Ngwenya, SEEC
  • Jasper Slingsby, SEEC and South African Environmental Observation Network
  • Dominic Henry, SEEC and Endangered Wildlife Trust
  • Vernon Visser, SEEC
  • Theoni Photopoulou, SEEC and University of St Andrews
  • Tess Gridley, SEEC and SeaSearch
  • Sharon Bosma, SEEC
  • Glenn Moncrieff, SEEC and South African Environmental Observation Network
  • Sulaiman Salau, SEEC
  • Sanet Hugo, University of VendaRes Altwegg, SEEC (co-chair)
  • Fitsum Abadi, SEEC and New Mexico State University